Read: 8 “Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. 9 Six days you shall labor and do all your work, 10
but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the LORD your God. On it you shall
not do any work, neither you, nor your son or daughter, nor your
manservant or maidservant, nor your animals, nor the alien within your
gates. 11 For in six days
the LORD made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in
them, but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the LORD blessed the
Sabbath day and made it holy.  Exodus 20:8-11

Write: Express any frustration you might feel about attending church. Why do you feel this way about the Lord’s Day?

I think sometimes for me, church gets very normal. like i do it so often, the good stuff gets past me. i’m so caught up in just getting it all done, getting it all over it. but i should really be slowing down, because God is definatedly speaking to me. what frustrates me is also that other people don’t really get involved. lots of people really work  hard to make Sunday mornings (and afternoons, in my case) happen (especially my family and i). but if people would just step up and do some things, that would help a whole lot. I think i feel this way because i really forget that it’s the Lord’s Day. i get caught up in myself. sometimes i sit there in church and think “what the preacher said sooo applies to so-and-so-person. but i don’t think much of how it really applies to me. but honestly, there is something i hear every Sunday that applies to me. and sometimes it’s the same message over and over again, which i really need to hear. i guess for me, Sundays involve a lot of work. but it’s a different kind of work. not like the strenuous labor of the ropes course at CLC! but all in all, i love Sunday mornings and afternoons. i love the people at church, and i love what my church is doing, so there aren’t really big frustrations for me.

Pray: Use some of the names of God mentioned in these journal exercises in your prayer.

Holy God,
    You’re actively present in my life, and i should always remember that, and acknowledge that. You’re my Redeemer and Deliverer, so i know that i am forgiven of my mess ups and You save me. You’re God Almighty. You’re my protective and forgiving Father, and i thank You for it. Help me to simply keep my focus on You and to love you with all i’ve got.

Leave a Reply

