Kool-Aid Toilet Cleaner

My apartment is home to 3 female college students in addition to myself. My roommates and I are often busy, so it’s not often that everybody is at the apartment all at once. I always love it when all my roommates are together, we have a lot of fun even if we just end up talking for hours. Despite all of us being busy, my roommates and somehow manage to keep our apartment in order when it comes to keeping things clean. But what ends up happening is that our apartment gets neglected of some major cleaning.

I spent my free day today cleaning my apartment, and I went all out! I swept and mopped the floors (Yes, I made  a mop in Alexa’s Life Hacks fashion! Click here to see what I’m talking about!), tackled my room, and the bathroom. I found a tip on using Kool-Aid as a toilet bowl cleaner, so I decided to try it out. Here’s a link to where I found the idea.

All you need is a single serving packet of Lemon or Orange flavored Kool-Aid, about one or two tablespoonfuls. The Lemon flavored Kool-Aid works well and gives off a clean scent, but the Orange flavored formula has an extra boost of citric acid that is supposed to help break down dirt. I simply opened a packet of Orange flavored Kool-Aid and put it in my toilet. I used a toilet cleaning brush to distribute the water/Kool-Aid mix. Here’s what my toilet looked like before I cleaned it:

And here’s how my toilet looked after:

I left the Kool-Aid mixture in my toilet for only a few hours, even though I intended to leave it in longer. Honestly, I don’t think using Kool-Aid to clean my toilet made much of a difference. It’s mostly because the toilet brush I used was the kind that already had cleaner in it. The main reason my toilet looks cleaner is because it hadn’t been cleaned in a long time, so cleaning it made a big difference.

Here’s my final verdict. For me, using Kool-Aid didn’t make much of a difference on my toilet. My toilet would have ended up looking cleaner regardless of whether or not I put Kool-Aid in it. Using Kool-Aid was definitely interesting, at the very least, it made my bathroom smell like fresh clean citrus. I was able to use the rest of my time to clean my apartment, so it wasn’t completely a waste. I don’t think I’ll end up cleaning my toilet with Kool-Aid again, but if my apartment ever runs out of cleaning products and I have nothing left to use but Kool-Aid, then I’ll know what to do.

At the end of the day, my apartment was squeaky clean. All the tiles in the kitchen floor are finally the same color, which I haven’t seen in a long time. I was glad to be able to clean my apartment for my roommates and for myself. I just hope that my apartment will be able to stay clean for longer!

Believe it or not, there are other Kool-Aid life hacks out there! I have compiled a list of the best ones, and you can read all about them here.

2 responses to “Kool-Aid Toilet Cleaner

  1. Pingback: Many Uses for Kool-Aid « Lex's Life Hacks

  2. Pingback: Lex’s Life Hacks- A Compilation- So Far… « Lex's Life Hacks

Leave a Reply

