Banana Pancakes from a Ketchup Bottle

In my very first blog entry, the life hack I introduced was putting pancake mix in a ketchup bottle so it can be poured out onto the pan easier. Click here to  check out my first blog entry, and see the picture I’m talking about. Last week, I decided to give this life hack a try. As a woman of my word, I put this trick to the test, to some interesting results. Now I am here to tell you about my pancake ordeal. But let me start my story at the beginning…

It all started the night before. I got back to my apartment late at night, and my roommate was fell asleep with the lights and her laptop on, and her glasses were still on her face. Being the nice roommate that I am, I thought that my roommate would probably sleep better if she wasn’t wearing her glasses. So I quietly went up to her, closed her laptop, and proceeded to remove her eyeglasses. But as I stood above my roommate, her eyes began to open. Alarmed at seeing my face hovering above her, she let out a loud scream and hid under her blankets. I apologized, hugged her, then left the room, because I didn’t want to be there if she chose to turn into a raging roommate. To make it up to her, I decided that I would make banana pancakes the next day. Lucky for me, I had saved a ketchup bottle for  such a time as this. I decided to proceed with my attempt at making banana pancakes, and I recorded the journey so I could share it with you today!

I didn’t have pancake mix, but I did have Belgian waffle mix. I searched online, and found out that waffle mix could work just as well for making pancakes.  I simply followed the directions on the box, mashing up one banana and adding it to the batch.

First I mixed the batter in a bowl, then got my ketchup bottle ready. But there was a problem. I had no way to pour all the batter into the bottle. The rim was too small.

Since I didn’t have a funnel, I tried to pour the batter straight out of the bowl into the bottle. But that resulted in a mess, and some batter was wasted. I guess I could’ve used a Ziploc bag as a funnel (that idea came from this YouTube video), but I didn’t think of it at the time, and it would’ve been more effort to pour the batter into a Ziploc bag, then into a ketchup bottle.

Once I got most of the batter into the ketchup bottle, I encountered another obstacle. The batter of waffle mix and mashed bananas was too thick to squeeze out of the small hole in the ketchup bottle’s cap. After a few attempts, I just gave up on the lid and poured the batter straight out of the bottle, which worked out better for me.

So in the end, I just used up the rest of the pancake batter that was left in the bottle. I could have tipped the bottle over to gather the leftover pancake batter, but I didn’t have enough time. However, I was able to gather the leftover pancake batter out of the original bowl I used easily.

The pancakes tasted pretty good, and I was able to make enough to share with my roommates. All in all, using a ketchup bottle to pour out pancake mix sounds like a good idea in theory, but it didn’t really work out that well for me. There was so much time and effort wasted on getting the batter into the bottle itself. When I finally got batter into the bottle, some of it got wasted during the process as well as in the bottle. Maybe a ketchup bottle would be handy for storage, if I had decided to refrigerate any leftover batter to use next time. But even then, pouring the batter out of the bottle was still a hassle. This probably would have worked easier if I made sure that the bananas I put in the pancake batter were thoroughly mushed so that there were no big pieces, and that I mixed my pancake batter better so that it wasn’t too clumpy. With that said, I probably won’t try using a ketchup bottle to pour pancake batter again anytime soon, just because it’s easier to  pour out pancake mix straight from the bowl.  In the end, my roommate wasn’t mad at me for waking her up in the middle of the night. In fact, I convinced her that it was all a dream and that it never happened! Hahah. Anyways, I still had a lot of fun making banana pancakes for the very first time, and I got to try a life hack too! I encourage you to do new things in life as often as you can. You’ll never know until you try!

4 responses to “Banana Pancakes from a Ketchup Bottle

  1. Ohscars

    HAHA @ scaring roommate.

  2. Pingback: Would You Really Do This (Pt. 2) « Lex's Life Hacks

  3. Pingback: Lex’s Life Hacks- A Compilation- So Far… « Lex's Life Hacks

  4. Examples are : A Heartful of Love, Be Mine, Be My Valentine etc.

    Then put your family video up there ON PRIVATE – so that only your family can see the video.
    G0 homemade.

Leave a Reply

